freetrack.blogg.se

Use my passport for storage on mac
Use my passport for storage on mac









  1. #Use my passport for storage on mac upgrade
  2. #Use my passport for storage on mac portable

#Use my passport for storage on mac portable

Given the hard drive's portable nature, this is a great complementary feature, but remember, forget your password, and it's game over.

use my passport for storage on mac

WD Security lets you add password protection (supported by the hardware encryption), which is perfect for ensuring that no one else can access your drive. The My Passport SSD also offers hardware-based 256-bit AES hardware encryption, support by its WD Discovery software, which gives you access to the WD Security app and WD Drive Utilities. It also works with USB 3.2 and USB-C thanks to an adapter that ships with the drive. Official platform support comes for Windows 8 and 10, as well as macOS Catalina, Mojave, or High Sierra (Big Sur is not listed by Western Digital, but it works just fine). The My Passport SSD is compatible with both Mac and Windows, however, we did have to reformat ours from NFTS to AFPS, but this can be done in your Mac's Disk Utility app in just a few seconds the first time you use it.

#Use my passport for storage on mac upgrade

You won't be left wanting for capacity either we tested the 1TB version of the My Passport SSD, however, you can downsize to 500GB if you so wish or upgrade to as much as 4TB for all the storage you could possible need. Transferring 15GB of video files to the drive to almost exactly 15 seconds, which makes it a great option for transferring larger data dumps at the drop of a hat. In practice, we found this to be absolutely true. Officially, it offers read speeds of 1050MB/s and write speeds of 1000MB/s (both sequential). Once it's plugged in, you'll immediately notice the excellent speeds that the My Passport SSD offers.

use my passport for storage on mac

Also durable, the My Passport SSD offers shock and vibration resistance and drop resistance up to 6.5ft. On the move, the last thing you want to worry about is lugging around a big heavy hard drive that takes up lots of room in your bag, the My Passport SSD will fit right into your pocket. If you need portable storage, this is the hard drive for you. It measures just 3.94" x 2.17" x 0.35", so it's the same width as a credit card and ever so slightly longer. In our My Passport SSD review, several excellent qualities became immediately apparent.











Use my passport for storage on mac